Takoyaki, a spherical food made of wheat flour and ingredients

Takoyaki is a spherical food with a diameter of about 5 cm, which is made by putting octopus, green onions, and pickled ginger in a dough made of wheat flour and eggs.

Sprinkle dried sea lettuce, dried bonito flakes, mayonnaise and sauce, and eat with a toothpick. Originally it was a fast food in Osaka, but now it can be eaten all over the country.

Takoyaki is often eaten as a snack, not as a meal.

What is Takoyaki and can I eat it?

Materials of typical Takoyaki

Wheat flour, octopus, eggs, dried bonito, ginger, sea lettuce

Gluten-free★ Low-gluten Wheat-free Low FODMAPs High FODMAPs
with Beef with Pork with Daily with Egg for Vegetarian
Restaurant Fast food Food supermarket Convenience store Drug store

★ There are a few shops that serve gluten-free takoyaki. See “Precautions when eating Takoyaki”.

No restrictions on the ingredients for Takoyaki

Takoyaki was born in Osaka about 90 years ago as a snack for the common people using wheat flour. Nowadays, it can be eaten all over Japan, and there are various types of takoyaki.


Originally it was named “Takoyaki” because it contained “Tako”, that is octopus, but nowadays there are many kinds of takoyaki that do not contain octopus.

Ingredients other than octopus include cheese, rice cakes, kimchi, chikuwa, and konjac boiled sweet and spicy with meat. Many people make it at home, and in this case the ingredients have not been decided.


Originally, takoyaki has no flavor on the dough, so it is common to eat it with sauce or mayonnaise. However, there are various ways to eat it, such as eating it with soup stock, eating it with ponzu sauce, or sprinkling it with soy sauce.

There is also takoyaki, which has a flavored dough and is eaten without adding anything.

Try to eat Takoyaki!

How much ?

$ 5 for 8 pieces

Where can I eat Takoyaki?

  • Takoyaki shop in the food court of a shopping mall
  • Takoyaki shop at downtown in Osaka

The food courts of large shopping centers usually have a shop of major takoyaki shop chain. You can order and eat at a nearby table. If you have a chance to go to Osaka, go to downtown Minami. Many takoyaki shops are lined up. You can eat at your favorite shop.

Precautions when eating Takoyaki

For people with dietary restrictions

Takoyaki uses wheat and animal ingredients.

Gluten-free Takoyaki Shops

There are only a few shops in Japan that offer gluten-free takoyaki (less than 5). Here are some of our recommended restaurants. You can eat in the store, but it’s better to take out. The clerk does not speak English.

Aako / Takoyaki shop

Cuisine:  Takoyaki, Okonomiyaki, Yakisoba

Special diets:
Gluten-free Options, Dairy-free

Address: 2-4-39 Nagayoshi-deto Hirano Osaka Osaka 547-0011

Hours: 11:00-20:00
Closed: Tue, Wed

Transport:  8 minute walk from Deto Station (T34)

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/komeko_takoyaki_aako/

Call:  06 7221 2808  (Japanese only)

Go-hachi / Takoyaki shop

Cuisine:  Takoyaki

Special diets:
Gluten-free (except soy sauce), Egg-free, Dairy-free

Address: 6-7-30 Hirano-nishi Hirano Osaka Osaka 547-0033

Hours: 11:00-19:00
Closed: Wed, Sun

Transport:  8 minute walk from Hirano Station (T33)

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/takoyaki.58/

Japanese writer’s comment for Takoyaki

Takoyaki rolls into a beautiful sphere while baking the muddy flour dough. The clerk at the takoyaki shop uses special tools to quickly make a large amount of takoyaki. It’s fun just to see how it’s made.