Karamucho & Pizza potato, Japanese potato chips popular with foreigners

“Karamucho” and “Pizza potato” are Japanese potato chips products.

Both are popular products for foreigners living in Japan.

Japanese sweets have many flavors, and many of them are limited editions. Potato chips also come in many flavors from each manufacturer. Among them, the two are deeply popular.

What is Karamucho & Pizza potato and can I eat them?

Materials of Karamucho & Pizza potato


potatoes, vegetable oils, spices, sugar, flavor oils, vegetable extract powder, etc.

“Pizza potato”

potatoes, vegetable oils, sugars, cheese powder, salt, flavor oils, vegetable extract powder, etc.

Gluten-free Low-gluten Wheat-free Low FODMAPs High FODMAPs
with Beef with Pork with Daily with Egg for Vegetarian
Restaurant Fast food Food supermarket Convenience store Drug store

Karamucho has a chili flavor, Pizza potato has a rich cheese flavor


Spicy potato chips based on the chili flavor produced by Koike-ya. It was launched in 1984 as a potato snack that adults can enjoy as a snack for alcohol.

It is the originator of spicy snacks. In the year it was released, sales at convenience stores were said to be number one among snacks. There is also a regular slice type, but the original is a chopped shoestring type.

Pizza potato

Thick, V-cut potato chips topped with cheese, manufactured by Calbee. It was launched in 1992, when pizza delivery was becoming popular.

There are many cheese-flavored snacks, but this pizza potato is fried and then immediately attached with melted cheese. Therefore, the taste of cheese is very rich.

Try to eat Karamucho & Pizza potato!

How much ?

$ 1~1.5

Where can I get Karamucho & Pizza potato ?

You can buy them at food supermarkets, convenience stores, and drug stores.

Precautions when eating Karamucho & Pizza potato

For gluten-free people with celiac disease

The two types of potato chips introduced here are not gluten-free because the seasoning contains wheat-derived ingredients. Wheat-derived ingredients are often used when potato chips are specially seasoned.

For those who do not have celiac disease but are gluten-free

Seasoning contains wheat-derived ingredients, but the amount is small, so it’s okay if you don’t overeat.

For Muslims

Do not eat as both contain pork ingreditents.

Japanese writer’s comment for potato chips

Gluten-free potato chips can be either “Usushio” or “Norishio”. Flavored potato chips contain wheat-derived ingredients in the seasoning. If you’re gluten-free for your health and you’re tolerant of small amounts of gluten, you can eat any of them.

Other than the “Karamucho” and “Pizza potato” introduced here, I recommend “Suppamucho” and “Wasa-beef”. “Suppamucho” has a vinegar flavor, and “Wasa-beef” has a wasabi and steak flavor. Both flavors are unique to Japan, so why not give them a try?