Mille crepe, a Japanese-born cake with crepe dough and cream

A Japanese-born cake with the name of a thousand crepes in French. It is a delicate cake in which about 20 pieces of crepe dough are layered alternately with cream.

In 1988, chef Mr. Toshinari Sekine devised it inspired by pasta lasagna. At that time, it was popular to walk while eating crepes in Japan.

What is Mille crepe and can I eat it?

Materials of Mille crepe

Eggs, sugar, wheat flour, butter, milk, cream, salt

Gluten-free Low-gluten Wheat-free Low FODMAPs High FODMAPs
with Beef with Pork with Daily with Egg for Vegetarian
Restaurant Cafe Food supermarket Convenience store Cake shop

Mille crepe has a variety of arrangement menus

Chef Sekine, the inventor of Mille crepes, worked at the cafe “RUELLE DE DERRIER” in Tokyo. Mille crepes were initially unpopular.

Mille crepes became famous all over the country when DOUTOR, a major coffee chain, offered a marketing permit. Mille crepes is now one of DOUTOR’s flagship products.

Chef Sekine has since established a system to deliver Mille crepes as frozen foods nationwide and launched his own brand “casaneo”.

Mille crepes are simple cakes, so there are many types of cakes that are arranged, such as chocolate and matcha flavored cakes, and fruits sandwiched between them.

Try to eat Mille crepe!

How much ?

$ 4~10

Where can I eat Mille crepe ?

You can get it at some convenience stores, but we recommend you to eat at a cafe.


  • Mille crepe cake  $ 3.5

It is located in all 47 prefectures nationwide, and there are more than 1,000 stores. If you want to eat Mille crepes, you can definitely go to DOUTOR. In addition to the standard products, seasonal limited flavors may be available. It goes well with Blend coffee, which uses raw beans procured from Hawaii’s directly managed farms.


  • Mille crepe  $ 8

This is famous for Mille crepes with fruits sandwiched between them. This cafe does not freeze cakes. They keep the freshness by making only the amount to be sold on the day and cutting the cake after receiving the order.

Precautions when eating Mille crepe

For Muslims

It does not contain any problematic ingredients.

For vegetarians

Since it uses eggs and milk, it cannot be eaten by anyone other than lacto-ovo vegetarians.

Japanese writer’s comment for Mille crepe

Actually, when I was a student, I had a part-time job at DOUTOR. If we gain experience, we will be entrusted with cutting Mille crepes. Anyway, it is soft and the layer is likely to collapse, so be careful. Therefore, we will do it when the shop is vacant as much as possible.

By the way, the Mille crepes sold at convenience stores are also very complete! It seems that Seven-Eleven has sold a standard product. This is also recommended as it is an orthodox type close to DOUTOR.