Dacquoise, a baked confectionery made with almond-flavored meringue

Dacquoise is a baked confectionery made with almond-flavored meringue. It is said to be based on an undried cake called “Henry IV”, which was popular in France at the end of the 19th century.

A Japanese pastry chef named Takao Mishima, who trained in Paris, made this into a small oval shape and arranged it into a baked confectionery, and opened a store called “16e” in Fukuoka to sell this baked confectionery.

What is Dacquoise and is it okay for me to eat it?

Materials of Dacquoise

Almond, sugar, wheat flour, egg

Gluten-free Low-gluten Wheat-free Low FODMAPs High FODMAPs
with Beef with Pork with Daily with Egg for Vegetarian
Restaurant Cafe Food supermarket Convenience store Cake shop

Dacquoise, a baked confectionery made by a Japanese chef who arranged traditional French confectionery

Chef Takao Mishima was wondering if he could make something new by arranging the traditional French confectionery “Dacquoise”.

At that time, he came up with the idea of ​​referring to Japan’s sweet “Monaka”. In the Monaka, it is a sweet made by wrapping soft red bean paste in a crispy skin made of rice flour. And it’s a small circle, oval, square.

The baked confectionery “Dacquoise” is oval, with a crispy outside and a moist cream inside. Chef Mishima has made many trials and errors to create this texture, and he is still making improvements.

The baked confectionery “Dacquoise” began to be sold in France in 1995 when Chef Michel Galloyer visited Chef Mishima to ask for a recipe for “Dacquoise” from France. After that, the pastry chef of “16 e” trained under Chef Gallloyer in France, and the exchange between the two continues.


Monaka is a traditional Japanese dessert with red bean paste sandwiched between crispy wafers. This rind is called “Kawa[…]

Try to eat Dacquoise!

How much?

$ 2

Where can I get Dacquoise?

Cake shop
Like Madeleine and Financier, it is located in the baked confectionery corner with a long expiration date, so if you go to a pastry shop in a large station building or a department store, you can definitely get it.

Precautions when eating Dacquoise

For gluten-free people

The main ingredients of Dacquoise are almond poodles and meringues. It is not gluten-free because about 1.5 g of wheat flour is used per piece.

Japanese writer’s comment for Dacquoise

The main ingredients of Macaroons are meringue and almond poodle. What is the difference between Dacquoise and Macaroons?

The big difference is that the Dacquoise originated in France and often whipped meringue when it was made, while the macaroons originated in Italy and crushed the meringue bubbles when it was made. Crushing this meringue is called macaroonage.

In addition, macaroons are often made without the use of wheat flour. Therefore, macaroons are recommended as a gluten-free diet. However, it is said that macaroons have a higher amount of sugar.