Oyakodon, Chicken and Egg Bowl is one of the Donburi-mono

It is one of the “Donburi mono” that is served with rice and side dishes in one bowl.

This dish is made by cooking  chicken, onions, and green onions in soy sauce, mirin, sugar, and dashi stock, adding beaten eggs, hardening them a little, and putting them on rice in a bowl. The name “Oyakodon (parent and child bowl)” comes from the fact that chicken (parent) and egg (child) are used at the same dish.

What is Oyakodon and can I eat it?

Materials of Oyakodon

Chicken, egg, onion, green onion, rice, soy sauce, mirin, sugar, dashi

Gluten-free Low-gluten Wheat-free Low FODMAPs High FODMAPs
with Beef with Pork with Daily with Egg for Vegetarian
Restaurant Fast food Food supermarket Convenience store Drug store

Oyakodon takes time to cook in the Donburi-mono

Oyakodon is said to have been born 140 years ago and has a long history as a food served in a large bowl. Chicken, eggs, onions, and green onions alone lack color, so green vegetables such as mitsuba and green peas may be placed on them. Also, the chopped sea weed may be placed.

Oyakodon, which requires the ingredients such as chicken to be heated with beaten eggs, takes more time and effort than Gyudon (beef bowl), which is made by placing the prepared ingredients on top of rice. Therefore, the price is a little higher than Gyudon.

Try to eat Oyakodon!

How much ?

$ 4.5~8

Where can I eat Oyakodon ?

You can eat it at a popular Japanese restaurant. The chain restaurant “Nakau” also offers oyakodon.

Precautions when eating Oyakodon

For gluten-free people

Wheat is used as a raw material for soy sauce used in Oyakodon. The protein contained in soy sauce is decomposed during the brewing process and does not remain. The amount of gluten contained in soy sauce is small, and the amount of soy sauce used in Oyakodon is also small. In Japan, it is said that people with wheat allergies can take soy sauce without any problems. If you have celiac disease, decide for yourself whether or not to eat. Others should be able to eat it.

For Muslims

The ingredients for Oyakodon do not contain any religiously problematic ingredients. Mirin and soy sauce used in soup stock contain alcohol, but they evaporate during the cooking process and do not remain in the dish.

Japanese writer’s comment for Oyakodon

The name Oyakodon comes from the fact that it uses chicken and eggs, but there is also a bowl called “Kaisen oyakodon (seafood oyakodon)”. This is a bowl used grilled or raw salmon fillets and soy sauce marinated salmon roe.

In addition, there is also “Tanindon (non-relative bowl)”. This uses meat other than chicken instead of chicken used in Oyakodon, beef is often used, and pork is rarely used. I haven’t seen it, but it seems that there is also a “Itokodon (cousin bowl)”that uses duck meat instead of chicken.