Ochazuke, a dish of soup stock sprinkled on the ingredients placed on rice

Ochazuke was originally a dish of the common people who eats rice with hot green tea, but nowadays, after putting ingredients on rice, it is eaten with hot broth or cold broth.

It is a meal peculiar to Japan and often eaten at the end of a dinner party.

What is Ochazuke and can I eat it?

Materials of Ochazuke

Rice, green tea, seaweed, salt kelp, umeboshi, grilled salmon, and grilled cod roe

Since the ingredients are not decided, wheat-derived ones are rarely used.

Gluten-free Low-gluten Wheat-free Low FODMAPs High FODMAPs
with Beef with Pork with Daily with Egg (for Vegetarian)
Restaurant Fast food Food supermarket Convenience store Drug store

Classic Ochazuke is pickled plum, grilled cod roe, or grilled salmon

In the past, it was not possible to keep cooked rice warm, so 300 years ago, Ochazuke began to be eaten by sprinkling tea on cold and hardened rice.

Originally it was a light meal for the common people. Even now, a product called “Ochazuke Nori”, which can be ochazuke just by sprinkling it on rice and pouring hot water on it, is so popular.

Ochazuke, which is served at Japanese restaurants, is made by placing ingredients on warm rice and sprinkling broth just before eating. Nori seaweed, salted kelp, pickled plums, grilled salmon, and grilled cod roe are often used as ingredients.

When ordering, choose among pickled plums, grilled cod roe, and grilled salmon. The broth is made from bonito and small fish and has a rich flavor. Meat, eggs and dairy products are rarely used, but fish are used.

In Japan, it is customary to eat carbohydrates such as rice, rice balls, and noodles at the end of the dinner party. Ochazuke is one of the options at that time.

Try to eat Ochazuke!

How much ?


Where can I eat Ochazuke?

It’s best to go to an “izakaya restaurant”. Most izakaya menus have ochazuke.

Usually, you drink alcohol, eat food, and eat Ochazuke last, but you can order Ochazuke first. If you leave the restaurant after eating only Ochazuke, some staff may look unpleasant, but don’t worry.

Please be aware that izakaya has a unique rule called “Otoushi”.

When you enter an izakaya restaurant, you may find simmered or spicy dishes in small bowls even though you haven’t ordered them. This is a recommended dish provided by the restaurant so that you can enjoy the time until the ordered dish comes out.

However, it is NOT free and will be charged about $ 3-5. This is a rule unique to an izakaya, so follow it.

Precautions when eating Ochazuke

Gluten-free & wheat-free

Normally, Ochazuke does not contain wheat-derived ingredients, but please note that it may be contained in the ingredients.

For Vegetarian

Please note that the broth that is widely used in Japanese cuisine is often taken from fish. In the case of “Umeboshi Chazuke”, no animal ingredients other than broth are used.

Japanese writer’s comment for Ochazuke

If you just want to enjoy Ochazuke, try “Ochazuke Nori”, which you can make Ochazuke just by sprinkling it on rice and pouring hot water on it.

Ochazuke Nori is available at all food supermarkets and at some convenience stores.

If the hotel you are staying at has a breakfast service, you will probably have rice. Put rice in a bowl, sprinkle with Ochazuke Nori powder, and pour boiling water over it to easily make Ochazuke.

Ochazuke Nori does not contain any wheat ingredients, so both people with wheat allergies and people with celiac disease can eat it with peace of mind.

Ochazuke Nori is just $ 2 in 8 bags.