Kushikatsu, deep-fried skewers of meat, seafood and vegetables

It is a common Japanese dish in which ingredients such as meat, seafood, and vegetables are stabbed on a skewer, battered, and fried in oil. It is sometimes eaten as a side dish of rice, but it is also a dish that is eaten while drinking alcohol.

At a kushikatsu restaurant, you can order your favorite ingredients from one, and there is a set menu.

What is Kushikatsu and can I eat it?

Materials of Kushikatsu

Wheat flour, bread crumbs, eggs and ingredients
See “Meal Description” for ingredients

Gluten-free Low-gluten Wheat-free Low FODMAPs High FODMAPs
with Beef with Pork with Daily with Egg for Vegetarian
Restaurant Fast food Food supermarket Convenience store Drug store

You can order your favorite ingredients

Kushikatsu is a dish in which ingredients such as bite-sized meat, seafood, and vegetables are stabbed on a long skewer made of bamboo, battered with wheat flour, bread crumbs, and raw eggs, and fried in oil. It is also called “Kushi-a-ge”.

When eating, hold the end of the skewer, attach a special sauce, and eat as it is.

Some of the most commonly used ingredients are:


  • beef
  • pork
  • chicken meat
  • sausage


  • horse mackerel
  • sand borer, a fish that japanese people commonly eat
  • shishamo smelt
  • Japanese pond smelt
  • shrimp
  • scallops
  • squid
  • Chikuwa, tube-shaped fish paste cake.
  • Hanpen, a cake of ground fish combined with starch and steamed.


  • onion
  • Shiitake mushroom
  • Shishito pepper
  • leek
  • lotus root
  • cherry tomato
  • eggplant
  • asparagus


  • stuffed peppers
  • sparagus wrapped in bacon
  • cheese chikuwa, cheese stuffed in a chikuwa hole
  • Quail eggs

Try to eat Kushikatsu!

How much ?

$ 1~3

Where can I eat Kushikatsu ?

Kushikatsu specialty restaurants

A kushikatsu specialty restaurant is a form of izakaya, and the main food menu is kushikatsu. Many stores are privately run, but there are also chain stores. “Kushikatsu Tanaka”, the largest Kushikatsu chain store in Japan, has about 270 stores nationwide.

Precautions when eating Kushikatsu

For gluten-free people

Kushikatsu is not gluten-free because it uses bread crumbs and wheat flour for its batter.

For Muslims

Pork is an ingredient often used in kushikatsu. Please note that even if the dish you ordered does not use pork, it is handled in the same utensil.

Japanese writer’s comment for Kushikatsu

Kushikatsu is a greasy dish, so you may eat it alternately with raw cabbage. Depending on the store, cabbage may be provided free of charge.

The sauce was in a bottle placed on the table, and each person pickled kushikatsu in the bottle and ate it. At that time, there was a rule that kushikatsu should be added to the sauce only once before eating. Due to the effects of infectious diseases, the rules may change in the future.